ABWW Hater of the Day: Jimi Izrael Part II

Mr. Izrael has the honor of being the first person to be Hater of the Day twice!
I have to give Mr. Izreal props he did answer my e-mail, but as I predicted the man doesn’t know squat about black women and is basically bashing his own ex-wives. He is stated he was a professor at Case Western University, but he really just taught one seminar on hip hop a year ago. I still approached him as an academic (since I am one in real life) This is a copy of our conversation.
July 8, 2010 at 9:22 am | #1
Reply | Quote | Edit

Hater: Hi all. My name is jimi izrael, the dolt in question.

I’m grateful and humbled to have my book be the topic of discussion, even if I am saddened by the tenor of the conversation. I’m sorry you felt the need to insult me personally, when you don’t, in fact, know me personally. I’m not going to enter in any great debate about my expertise, the typos in the book or the like. I wrote an unconventional memoir absent of advice but full of explicit and not-so explicit lessons for thoughtful readers willing to read it from cover to cover. Not everyone has that time, or is willing to be particularly thoughtful. The book is not for everyone.

> I did edit out the word connubial, apparently he could not even keep a white woman happy, once again suggesting that they should not be on the pedestal that so many put them on. They are they have the same foibles that we do.

If your presumptions about who I have found “conubial bliss” with are any indication, clearly, you did not read the book.

Or at least, you did not read it well. I don’t purport to have any expertise that you don’t, and I say that. I just told part of my story. My book flouts the statistics, which don’t really tell us alot. People aren’t numbers — I just suggest that happiness is where you find it.

Thanks again for thinking of me. As best as I am able, I will answer any questions you may have.
***************************************************************************************************
Eshowoman: You are absolutely right, I didn’t read the book from cover to cover. I saw the Nightline piece and I took the Amazon reviews to the book store and read portions in the store. I am not going to pay for a book that puts black women down on a wholesale basis. I live in rural college town and the public library does not stock books that cover issues around black folks. So I could not borrow it.

If you have read any other entries of this blog you will notice a pattern. There seems to be a growing trend of black men who out-marry and blame black women for their choices. You are in the company of Slim Thug, Tim Alexander, Toure and Taye Diggs. Why are men who have chosen their non-black partners for life act out on this compulsion? I feel that black women have a right to be angry about this trend. Of course, some women are just plain angry, obnoxious, aggressive, materialistic and fat, but these are not identifying traits of black women. I continue to find examples of women of all races and ethnic groups who are exemplars of these traits. So if you are down I would love to have a conversation.

I am an academic like you and I have spent a great deal of time researching this phenomenon. I contend that this issue has historical, psychosocial and economic roots that go back to when the first Africans were placed on the auction block and to make assumptions about black women without taking these things into consideration is just an exercise in malice.

Here are some questions I would like you to address:

Black women are raising children alone and a significant portion of black men are choosing criminality over their partners and children. Why do you think that is the case?

How to you think centuries of propaganda around ideal white womanhood has effected marital choice for black men?

How do you think the fact that black families have never been able to model themselves after pre-feminist middle class due to economic racism and paramour rights?

Why should a sister who has completed her education, financially stable with no children, in other words completed the requirements of black middle class respectability, lower their standards? Shouldn’t brothers step their game up?

Black women give black me life,we parent you, we teach you so how can we ALL be the antithesis of what a man of any race wants for a partner?

Your last blog discussed misogyny, but did not address the how hip hop has been corrupted from the music I loved as a child (I grew up two subway stops from 1520 Sedgwick Avenue) into the black-woman-hating-light-skin-fetishistic clap trap of commercial rap?

Why do black comedic actors dress up as black women and act out the worst stereotypes about black women?

I look forward to your answers.

**************************************************************************************************
Hater: How can you, with any intellectual integrity, talk down a book you haven’t read? And here’s a hint? The “I don’t have to taste shit to know it’s not pancakes” defense doesn’t hold. Black people read books and weigh them on their merits. Telling other black people to run from a book you haven’t read is, in the words of noted social commentator Charlie Murphy
— madd niggerish. Sad. Really.

> I should have known anyone who refers to Eddie Murphy’s untalented brother as a “social commentator” really doesn’t have a third leg to stand on!

****************************************************************************************************
July 9, 2010 at 1:15 am | #4
Reply | Quote | Edit

Eshowoman: Send me a copy and I will be happy to read it. As I said I don’t spend my hard earned money on these “beat a black woman down” books, movies or music.

Look forward to your answers with bated breath.
****************************************************************************************************

Esho:If you have read any other entries of this blog you will notice a pattern. There seems to be a growing trend of black men who out-marry and blame black women for their choices. You are in the company of Slim Thug, Tim Alexander, Toure and Taye Diggs. Why are men who have chosen their non-black partners for life act out on this compulsion?

Hater: Who is this non-black partner of mine? Can you introduce me?
> I have wonderful, beautiful, vivacious white girlfriends. Why would I introduce any of them to a many who can only see them in stereotypes? Find you own Suzy Chapstick, dude.

Eshowoman: I feel that black women have a right to be angry about this trend. Of course, some women are just plain angry, obnoxious, aggressive, materialistic and fat, but these are not identifying traits of black women.

Hater: Do Tell

Eshowoman: I continue to find examples of women of all races and ethnic groups who are exemplars of these traits. So if you are down I would love to have a conversation.

Hater: We’ll see

Eshowoman: I am an academic like you
I left out the word “ideology” accidentally. But his response makes me realize that this dude is clearly inflating his credentials.
Hater: What is the question here?

Eshowoman: Why should a sister who has completed her education, financially stable with no children, in other words completed the requirements of black middle class respectability, lower their standards?

Hater: Standards are important. Be the person you are looking for. Be picky. But be reasonable

Eshowoman: Shouldn’t brothers step their game up?

Hater: There are more black men in college now than there has ever been in American history. So I’d say that they are.

Eshowoman: Black women give black you life, we parent you, we teach you so how can we ALL be the antithesis of what a man of any race wants for a partner?

Hater: Who said that?
> Is this guy debating the basic facts of biology and African American life? WTF???

Eshowoman: Your last blog discussed misogyny, but did not address the how hip hop has been corrupted from the music I loved as a child (I grew up two subway stops from 1520 Sedgwick Avenue) into the black-woman-hating-light-skin-fetishistic clap trap of commercial rap?

Hater: Since “Rapper’s Delight,” popular rap has been sexist and sexual. Not a lot has changed.
> This is hater who claims he is an “expert” on hip hop, yet claims the beginning of the movement began with “Rappers Delight”. That is incredible! I feel sorry for the students who took his seminar.

Eshowoman: Why do black comedic actors dress up as black women and act out the worst stereotypes about black women?

Hater: For the same reason ancient Grecian actors and Shakespearean plays included men dressed as women. It’s farcical. And it’s funny.
I look forward to your answers.
****************************************************************************************************

July 9, 2010 at 1:59 am | #6
Reply | Quote | Edit

Hater: Black women are being incarcerated at 7 times the rate of black men.” Reference URL Please?
> WWWWWTF???

Esho: Changes in the incarceration rates for women were more distinct. At midyear 2000, black women were incarcerated at a rate 6 times that of white women (or 380 per 100,000 U.S. residents versus 63 per 100,000 U.S. residents). By June 30, 2007, the incarceration rate for black women declined to 3.7 times that of white women (or 348 versus 95). An 8.4% decline in the incarceration rate for black women and a 51% increase in the rate for white women accounted for the overall decrease in the incarceration rate of black women relative to white women at midyear 2007.”
Source:
Sabol, William J., PhD, and Couture, Heather, Bureau of Justice Statistics, Prison Inmates at Midyear 2007 (Washington, DC: US Department of Justice, June 2008), NCJ221944, p. 8.
http://www.ojp.usdoj.gov/bjs/pub/pdf/pim07.pdf-t1/tab01.txt

If black women are not raising these children who is?

Esho: I continue to find examples of women of all races and ethnic groups who are exemplars of these traits. So if you are down I would love to have a conversation.

Hater : We’ll see
Esho: Busted! You are guilty too, obviously you only read the blog entry that pertains to you.

Esho: How to you think centuries of propaganda around ideal white womanhood has effected marital choice for black men?
Hater: I can’t speak for a race of men. No one can”
Esho: Yet you presume to talk to a race of black women?

Esho: How do you think the fact that black families have never been able to model themselves after pre-feminist middle class ideology due to economic racism and paramour rights?

Hater: What is the question here?

Esho:”I left out the word “ideology” but I made an assumption that a man who chooses to lecture black women would know something about black middle class respectability. My bad!

Esho: Black women give black you life ,we parent you, we teach you so how can we ALL be the antithesis of what a man of any race wants for a partner?
Hater: Who said that?
> I guess ole Jimi was raised by wolves……

Esho: Do you know anything about black woman’s clubs, sororities, black female labor activity,anti-lynching politics, paramour rights, the history of denial of legal protections around rape, the Venus Hottentot? I could go on and on and on…
If you are not versed in any of this history how can you with any good conscience write amount black women. Your bio said you were in Mass Comm (like me) haven’t you heard of Ida B. Wells and her suit against the Chesapeake & Ohio Railroad Company?

> Note he has NO ANSWER this.

Esho: Shouldn’t brothers step their game up?

Hater: “There are more black men in college now than there has ever been in American history. So I’d say that they are.” Reference URL?
Eshowoman: That is wonderful but they are also out marrying at an alarming rate:
A new study shows that more and more black men are marrying women of other races. In fact, more than 1 in 5 black men who wed (22 percent) married a nonblack woman in 2008. This compares with about 9 percent of black women, and represents a significant increase for black men — from 15.7 percent in 2000 and 7.9 percent in 1980.
http://pewresearch.org/pubs/1616/american-marriage-interracial-interethnic

Eshowoman: Your last blog discussed misogyny, but did not address the how hip hop has been corrupted from the music I loved as a child (I grew up two subway stops from 1520 Sedgwick Avenue) into the black-woman-hating-light-skin-fetishistic clap trap of commercial rap?

Hater: Since “Rapper’s Delight,” popular rap has been sexist and sexual. Not a lot has changed.
Esho: Please! You know as well as I do when hip hop left the east coast, the words B*tch and Ho became de riguer. You are not seriously trying to say that LL’s “I’m the Type of Guy” is the same as Tupac’s “Same Ho”or NWA’s “A B*tch Iz A B*tch? Sexual and sexist is not the same thing.

Are you telling me the Flip Wilson consulted the Lysistrata or Martin Lawrence the Twelfth Night before they put on a wig?
These stereotype of a shrewish, emasculating black woman who was unfit for matrimony was introduced into early cinema by white men with titles like The Wooing and Wedding of a Coon (1905) Wooing of Aunt Jemima (1916) and Coontown Suffragettes (1914) a “darky” version of the Lysistrata. Back then black newspapers mounted campaigns to censor those films, today most say that is exactly how black women act. How did we get from there to here?
****************************************************************************************************
July 9, 2010 at 1:47 pm | #7
Reply | Quote | Edit

Hater: Good counterpoints, all.
Thanks for the compliment, it has become obvious that as far as sister go you know nothing beyond your own failed relationships and some he-man-woman-haters-barbershop-trash-talk.

Sometimes people engage the opposite sex in pointless bickering because this is the only kind of attention they can get from them. Some people really want to build bridges. I wrote a book that some people enjoy. People who bring their blind anger in search of easy answers?

Yeah, they skip around the chapters, see themselves in the book — or don’t– and don’t enjoy the book so much. I felt the same way about “Sense and Sensibilities.”

> The title of the book is “Sense and Sensibility.” I am not suprised you read it all the way through
Jane Austin’s books are all about ideal white femininity. You should read “Mansfield Park” where the gentle lady gets slightly distress when she finds out how the rape and torture of black women funds her life of leisure in England.

But I read it all the way through anyways, just so i could discuss it intelligently.
I don’t have the time for protracted arguing with people hiding behind clever screen-names about the thesis of a book you haven’t read and admonish others not to read, which is, I repeat, Madd Niggerish. Any black person –academic!?– telling you to run from a book they haven’t read, no matter what’s in the book they haven’t read, is an idiot.

Eshowoman: have also read some of your homophobic hogwash, that stuff makes me madder than any well worn hateration in your book.

Since you are not an academic, I doubt we will ever run into each other. It is clear since you cannot engage in any thoughtful conversation on this topic, the question of who the idiot is up for grabs.

I’m happy that you are trying to be a part of the solution here on Angry Black Woman Watch
> Thanks for the complement???

Hater: But this conversation will have to continue… without me.
>Now why am I not surprised?
****************************************************************************************************

July 9, 2010 at 1:50 pm | #8
Reply | Quote | Edit

>Send me a copy and I will be happy to read it. As I said I don’t spend my hard earned money on these “beat a black woman down” books, movies or music.

Stay Classy, Baby.
All my best,
j—
> Most published authors have copies up the ying yang to send out for free to reviewers. If you can’t stand the heat, you really should stay out of the kitchen.
****************************************************************************************************

July 9, 2010 at 11:32 pm | #9
Reply | Quote | Edit

Eshowoman: It is very hard to build bridges when some ‘don’t even have the tools. I’d rather spend my money on material that poses real solutions. A half an hour in a book store and your inability to answer any of my questions is enough proof for me that you are using your own failed marriages to smear black women. I will continue to follow your blog at the The Root since the several of the other links you have poster are dead. Confabulate much?
Stay pitiful, baby.
~E
****************************************************************************************************

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “ABWW Hater of the Day: Jimi Izrael Part II”

  1. Coco says :

    Once I found out you haven’t read the book–as hard as that is, I know!–I felt I couldn’t read the rest of this post.

    However, I do understand the hurt and frustration with this topic, and why you didn’t read the book all the way. It’s one thing for someone to choose a mate regardless of the color of their color/ethnicity–I’m a black woman who has dated people regardless of color/ethnicity. But it’s an entirely different thing when I hear black men going on and on (before this was a ‘trend’ covered by the media) about how white/Asian/Latin women are so much better than us. These men, will pick someone who has every so-called bad quality they criticize us for, but everything slides because they’re white or other (usually white). She could have one leg and a kickstand and have a face like someone hit her over and over with a bag of rocks…but as long as she’s white she’s alright!

    I’m excluding SOME black men who date interracially don’t feel this way. They are the EXCEPTION rather than the RULE.

  2. eshowoman says :

    If Mr. Izrael had been able to answer any of my questions with any iota of thought or self interrogation, I might have come up with the funds. But he is not interested in any real conversation, so why should I support his tirade? It is an an extremely easy read so believe me a half an hour with it is enough to get the main thesis,which I hate my ex-wives and all black women must pay for it.

Leave a Reply

scientia sexualis

Naso magister erat.

Whatever

I'M STARING AT THE ASPHALT WONDERING WHAT'S BURIED UNDERNEATH

eatlivewear.wordpress.com/

Vegan. Gluten Free. Lactose Free. Sugar Free. Saying "NO" to Pharmaceutical Meds. Low Glycemic. Lovin' On - Ayurveda. Herbcraft. Fashion. Music. Art & The Good Life.

Olivia A. Cole

Author. Blogger. Bigmouth.

Phillis Remastered

The Original Down Home Critic

Anibundel

(I Should Have Been A Blogger)

tressiemc

some of us are brave

Lair of the Queer Black Girl

Just your (not-so) friendly neighborhood anti-racist killjoy.

Freedom Hall

We are students for the information that was left out

Betzwood Film Archive

A digital history project bringing to life the Betzwood Film Studios of Montgomery County, Pennsylvania. From the Archives of Montgomery County Community College

In America

- You Define America What Defines You

SHANTOLOGY

shantrelleplewis.com

MCNY Blog: New York Stories

Iconic photos of a changing city, and commentary on our Collections & Exhibitions from the crew at MCNY.org

Chronicles of Harriet

The Very BEST in Afrofuturism and Black Speculative Fiction!

CoolBlkPpl

We Real Cool

NewsFeed

Breaking news and updates from Time.com. News pictures, video, Twitter trends.

