ABWW Stereotype Buster of the Day: Lady Ga Ga

Lady Ga Ga has positioned herself as the pop princess provocateur of new century. She has taken the “originality” of Madonna (which was actually taken form gay black men in Harlem) and replaced it with hooks that stick in your head like tumor. She is has an ingenious way of hyping celebrity instead to showcase her talents in a postmodern way that keeps her the talk of the town. Last week she showed up half naked (black studded bra and a leather jacket), got exceedingly drunk and gave the camera men that follow her around incessantly the finger. Of course her actions were covered in the press from here to Timbuktu. I can’t remember a black female celebrity (besides that whore-first-rapper second Lil Kim) acting in such a manner. If white female celebrities like Lindsey Lohan and Tara Reid, for example constantly make aggressive, unladylike behavior their cache and still get placed on the pedestal why do all black women have to bear the stereotype of crazy black woman, until proven innocent?

Tags: , , ,

13 responses to “ABWW Stereotype Buster of the Day: Lady Ga Ga”

  1. Curly Film Chick says :

    I whole-heardly agree with this analysis, I noticed it too. Great blog btw, thanks for visiting mine.

  2. M says :

    I think it’s hilarious how you cry out about the mysoginistic ways society tries to enforce ideals into us (not only as black women, but as Women as a whole) about how we should act/be, and yet here you are doing the same thing.

    Gaga unladylike? Lil Kim the whore? However they choose to act is their own damn business and frankly my dear none of yours.

    Your Hypocrisy is Showing,
    M.

  3. eshowoman says :

    Obviously M you have no idea what it is like to be a black woman and want to swing the conversation back to the default woman, the white woman. I find it hilarious that you cannot face not being in the pedestal of ideal womanhood for even a second. However I choose to uplift black women, my dear is frankly none of YOUR business.
    Your ignorance and narcissism is showing.
    ~Esho

    • M says :

      Well sweetheart I’ll just clear a few things up then. Being that I am in fact a black single woman, maybe you should rethink your argument. Alo lovely how you’ve managed to miss my point. I’m a woman. I like having sex. I’m NOT shy or ashamed about this. So does this make me,as you so helpfully put it, unladylike and/or a whore.

      I’m all for uplifting black women. I am NOT for putting down others based on how they want to lead their lives (no matter their skin type). Because honestly, having to not only put up with this shit from people of OTHER races but also from someone who claims to be an ally is bullshit.

      I reiterate; Your fucking HYPOCRISY is showing.

  4. eshowoman says :

    “Being that I am in fact a black single woman, maybe you should rethink your argument.”

    Yeah, I can see how black you are by your picture. You seem to have missed the point of the entire blog and our focusing on two posts. You seem to have missed all the posts about exceptional black women doing great things and focused on the women of ill repute. Did I hit a sore spot?

    “Alo lovely how you’ve managed to miss my point. I’m a woman. I like having sex.”

    If you live your life in a way that reinforces black female stereotypes then do so and don’t bitch about it. Sex is great but you seem to protest too much, maybe you need an AA type program instead of a faux protest around individualism?

    • M says :

      You seem to have missed the point of the entire blog and our focusing on two posts.
      No. I judge a blog by all it’s posts. The fact that you don’t see the problem with the post says enough. The fact that you’re so quick and willing to stomp on others to emphasize a point isn’t right.

      I had enjoyed this blog and I was taking my time reading through all of your posts before this one. I’m trying to point out that it’s not right to try and make yourself feel better by putting others down, and so far in your replies to me I’ve seen that all you can do is throw insults and petty replies. You saying “I can’t remember a black female celebrity (besides that whore-first-rapper second Lil Kim) acting in such a manner” is just playing up to the bitchy/catty stereotype that we all as females get labeled with. Good Job.

      You’re a judgemental hypocrite.

      Black women are strong and beautiful and obviously done wrong by the media. Yes you’ve made an effort to point that out in your other blog posts which is appreciated, but at the end of the day you’re just another prejudiced misogynist who feels like women have to act and fit in to what YOU think is the “proper” way to act. You’re no different from the people you claim are doing you and your “sisters” (whoever lives up to your standards, of course) wrong.

      So I’ll just be on my way with my queer, degree-holding, well-paying-job-having, sex-life-enjoying, reinforcing-of-black-female-stereotype self. I live for me and I think for myself and like I said, I’m pretty OK with Me. My family loves me like this. Lil’ Kim is obviously ok being the “whore-first-rapper”. And Lady Gaga seems pretty ok being “unladylike”. Why does this bother you? People aren’t always going to live up to your expectations, and there will always be assholes trying to bring women down. Why are you helping them?

      So while I think you had good intentions for this blog, this is just another ugly side of the feminist movement I want no part of. I’ll stick with the feminism where we all stick by each other even if we don’t always agree with the actions of others and not this PSEUDO-feminism where you try to pick other women apart, thanks. You’re welcome to join in.

      And I’ll just leave a quote for you:

      “As different as we all are, there’s one thing most young women have in common: we’re all brought up to feel like there’s something wrong with us. We’re too fat. We’re dumb. We’re too smart. We’re not ladylike enough – stop cursing, chewing with your mouth open, speaking your mind. We’re too slutty. We’re not slutty enough. Fuck That. You’re not too fat. You’re not too stupid. You’re not unladylike. THERE IS NOTHING WRONG WITH YOU.”

      –Jessica Valenti “Full Frontal Feminism”

  5. eshowoman says :

    “Gaga unladylike? Lil Kim the whore?”
    These are the posts YOU picked out.

    This is blog is geared toward black women who fight have the stereotypes that Lil Kim barters in. Every one else is quite welcome and if an adulterous non-talent skank is a hero to you that is your prerogative. The rest of us have to live with the damage she does and talented black female rappers like Bahamdia get no play because the idea of a black woman as a hypersexual vixen is still so prevalent. I will point out these self-hating hags and the damage they do on the regular. Have you ever wondered why a women like Lady Ga Ga gets a pass but if a women of color did the same thing she would simply be “acting according to her nature?”

    “This is just another ugly side of the feminist movement I want no part of.”

    As Sophia in the Color Purple sez “fine by me!”I will keep womanists like Toni Cade Bambara, Alice Walker, Audre Lourde,Pauline Collins, bell hooks, Kimberly Crenshaw, Jacqueline Bobo, Trinh T. Minh-ha, and others who investigate the triple standard that black women are placed under.

    If fact that those two posts out of over 50 have gotten under your skin for some reason, is an issue between you and your therapist. If you prefer traditional feminists who think of women of color as an afterword, be my guest. The issues that black women have endured in this country are much more severe than those by who had enough time to pen about their ennui and dissatisfaction with because they had black maids to do all their house work and care for their children.If you think that the masters tools will bring down the masters house you better buy one of those toxic FEMA trailers that they are trying to unload!

    • M says :

      These are the posts YOU picked out.
      Those are the words YOU said.

      I’m quite fine at picking out the double standards. You want to tell me about racism, sexism and double standards in this country, don’t bother you embody it perfectly.

      I’m a gay Jamaican expat who’s been here a while. Tell me about the double standard, and how you have to fight for your rights… I’d LOVE to know.

      • eshowoman says :

        I am Jamaican American, born in England, so quoting the Honorable Robert Nestor Marley does not impress me. The funny part is we could be related. My family is from Old Harbor in St. Catherine. I am glad that you were able to leave home without the terrible homophobia that mars our homeland. I understand why you are hot under the collar about sexuality. I have a cousin who is estranged from my family because of his “bachelorhood.” I get the skink eye sometimes when I go home because I am unmarried.

        You don’t seem to get that I am not against any expression of sexuality, I am against people who make money by highlighting stereotypes. Do you think if Patra or Lady Saw made music about how many dicks she could suck that they would have such a long career in JA? Yet Lil Kim’s work is seen as real expression of black womanhood.

        I strongly suggest you read some of the women above especially Audre Lourde in and add Jewelle Gomez, June Jordan (another Yardie American) and Barbara Smith too. I also recommend Cheryl Dunes’s film Watermelon Women to get a better idea of what African American woman straight and gay have had to put up with. In addition you might want to read the Mary Prince’s slave narrative to see what our ancestors had to put up with. Jamaican men can be color struck and deeply patriarchal but they do not hate on black women with the ferocity that African American men do. If you disagree with me so vehemently I dread to think of what you think of Staceyann Chin or Wanda Sykes?

  6. M says :

    You don’t seem to get that I am not against any expression of sexuality, I am against people who make money by highlighting stereotypes.

    But you don’t seem to understand I’m not against this. I honestly think you’re entitled to your opinion, in fact I appreciate hearing artists criticized and think it should happen more often.

    What I’m against is you attacking someone for something as silly as how ladylike/whoring they are.

    The reason I’ve been stuck on that is because it’s the ONLY problem I have with this post. If you had made this a post about what you stated in the above comment, I would have agreed (I do agree with you to an extent).

    But I do not like when other women, feminists especially, attack others on the basis that one woman does fit their bill. Think they have no talent? Tell me why. Think they’re damaging to society? I’d really love reading that.

    But throwing nasty insults at them personally, calling them names and such does more harm than good and regardless of how far out of whack I think they are, I’m going to stand up for them, whether I agree with them or not. Because if someone said the things about you or a complete stranger (the whore/skank/hag stuff) that you mentioned above, I would have done the same thing. And I stand by it wholeheartedly.

    I’m glad that I can finally see where you’re coming from, because I understand what you’re saying and I think you should really build on that. If we’re gonna make a point about Black women in society, I really think the misogynistic bashing needs to stop.

    On another note, I HAVE read all the above authors you’ve mentioned (I’m kind of a bookworm) and I know from first hand how racist people are even within the LGBT and African American Community(oh trust me you have not LIVED until you’ve had an African-American dude tell you, you’re not Really black since you’re Jamaican).

    P.S. I’m apologize if I came across as rude or hurtful before. I guess it shows that I deal with this on a regular.

    P.P.S. Staceyann Chin is actually my hero. 😀

  7. eshowoman says :

    “An african-American dude tell you, you’re not Really black since you’re Jamaican”
    Been there, done that. I have heard “I have heard about you Jamaican women” and when I ask them what they heard they either look at me blankly or say “I got to bring my A game with you.” What do you offer African American women? I have had professors tell me that the reason I have been sucessful academically is because I am Jamaica not African American, disregarding the fact that I am both.

    As far as Lil Kim goes we can agree to disagree. I still think that Biggie’s wife Faith Evans is far more talented and that Lil Kim makes up for her lack of talent by promoting the same ideas that the mainstream has seen as fact of black womanhood for centuries. She is more of a whore for that than the fact she slept with Biggie. She promotes herself as a whore, so I am not being misogynist by calling her what she herself embraces. I hear she was pissed off with her portrayal in Notorious (Although I love Angela Basset, I wish they would have hired someone who could actually do a Jamaican accent) so perhaps she will learn that their are some drawbacks to acting out a stereotype.

    You should read Reconstructing Womanhood by Hazel Carby and I Will Wear No Chain!: A Social History of African-American Males by Christopher Brian Booker. They are both excellent views into the history of black woman hateration.

    • M says :

      Eh so it goes all over.

      Hmm RE: Lil Kim-I don’t know much about her personal life and am not interested in finding out honestly. My point really just revolves (mainly) around language. I think HOW you say something has another level of importance along with WHAT you say. So to me arguing that calling her a whore is ok because she calls herself a whore is somewhat immature (for lack of a better word) because how she uses the word, i.e. her meaning, may not be your meaning, which is slightly misogynistic.

      So yeah ok, you think the people acting out stereotypes are wrong (and most times they are), but what about people who feel most comfortable within that stereotype, or a part of it at least?

      Honestly it’s not the action(s) that’s classified as the stereotype that bothers me (mostly), it’s the fact that people make it the STANDARD. I’d rather the standard be that there is no set standard for how black women (and people in general) should be. That the differences are acknowledged (the rainbow tasted, special snowflake awesomeness achieved etc.) and that we learn some respect (for others yes, but mostly for the self). And well, people have really different definitions of self-respect so I’m cool if they’re cool.

      Then again this is probably just my damn idealism rearing up again (still going to work towards it though).

      Hazel Carby’s been on my to-read list for a while, and I’m just waiting for work to slow down some. I’ll keep an eye out for the Brian next time I go book shopping though.

Leave a Reply

scientia sexualis

Naso magister erat.

Whatever

THIS MACHINE MOCKS FASCISTS

eatlivewear.wordpress.com/

Vegan. Gluten Free. Lactose Free. Sugar Free. Saying "NO" to Pharmaceutical Meds. Low Glycemic. Lovin' On - Ayurveda. Herbcraft. Fashion. Music. Art & The Good Life.

Olivia A. Cole

Author. Blogger. Bigmouth.

Phillis Remastered

The Original Down Home Critic

Anibundel

(I Should Have Been A Blogger)

tressiemc

some of us are brave

Media Diversified

Analysis. Stories. Aesthetics. By and from the diaspora.

Lair of the Queer Black Girl

Just your (not-so) friendly neighborhood anti-racist killjoy.

Freedom Hall

We are students for the information that was left out

Betzwood Film Archive

A digital history project bringing to life the Betzwood Film Studios of Montgomery County, Pennsylvania. From the Archives of Montgomery County Community College

In America

- You Define America What Defines You

SHANTOLOGY

shantrelleplewis.com

MCNY Blog: New York Stories

Iconic photos of a changing city, and commentary on our Collections & Exhibitions from the crew at MCNY.org

Chronicles of Harriet

The Very BEST in Afrofuturism and Black Speculative Fiction!

CoolBlkPpl

We Real Cool

NewsFeed

Breaking news and updates from Time.com. News pictures, video, Twitter trends.

